The City Lights of Heaven – Jan. 27, 1994

I was twenty-six at the time I had this dream. The clarity of it blew me away at the time and it has stayed with me for years, undeciphered.

I dreamed that I was outside at night, walking down a dirt road that ran through a landscape of low hills covered with moist, green grass. Normally I don’t take notice of temperature and ambient weather in a dream, but it occurred to me that a light rain was falling on me. I was cold and noticed I was wearing nothing but my pajamas. I could feel the pebbles in the dirt beneath my feet as I walked toward a hill. The rain made an odd sound as it hit the ground – like each drop was made of shards of broken glass. I heard the soft tinkle of the glass rain all around me as I started up the hill. When I reached the top, all was dark and I noticed that that the sky was clear despite the strange rain. I saw the entire universe of stars above and they seemed to be singing a song I couldn’t quite make out.

As I stared up in wonder at the stars, a figure appeared out of the darkness beside me. It was a young girl, maybe six or seven years old. She looked a lot like me at that age. She was carrying a plate with a slice of birthday cake on it. She offered it to me but I refused, saying that I wasn’t hungry. I asked her why it was raining even though the night sky was clear and I could see all the stars. She looked up as well and said that the rain was the tears of God.

What about the singing? I asked. It was so beautiful, as if I was hearing the music of the stars themselves. The girl laughed then and said they were singing away their sadness. It made them happy to sing. I remained silent, just trying to take in the utter awesomeness of all the galaxies of stars, like someone had spilled diamond dust on back velvet. I asked her why I was here. What was I supposed to see?

The girl moved out of my view and her voice seemed to be fading away. Before she disappeared altogether, I heard her say. “The stars are the city lights of heaven. It’s close enough to touch, just like God planned.” Then I felt the wind pick up into a gale, flattening the grass and I felt like I was caught in a silent storm. I was alone in the darkness, watching the skies and could no longer hear the stars. Then, just as I turned to leave, a great light appeared on the horizon — like the sun rising but a million times brighter. I felt utter joy at that moment. I awakened just as the light flooded over me.

My interpretation of this, many years later, is that it’s a dream of the second coming of Jesus Christ. The singing stars are the angels, the heavenly host. The girl, in my opinion, was a child I lost, long ago.  I think I was being shown the power of God, and that everything was and is going according to His plan. The burst of light at the end? Maybe the Second Coming.

Bible verses I associate with this dream:

Isaiah 40:26

“Lift up your eyes on high And see who has created these stars, The One who leads forth their host by number, He calls them all by name; Because of the greatness of His might and the strength of His power, Not one of them is missing.”

Job 38:7

“When the morning stars sang together And all the sons of God shouted for joy?”

2 Peter 1:19

“So we have the prophetic word made more sure, to which you do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in your hearts.”

Matthew 24:29

“But immediately after the tribulation of those days THE SUN WILL BE DARKENED, AND THE MOON WILL NOT GIVE ITS LIGHT, AND THE STARS WILL FALL from the sky, and the powers of the heavens will be shaken.”

Revelation 6:13

“…and the stars of the sky fell to the earth, as a fig tree casts its unripe figs when shaken by a great wind.”
– Jillian

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

